Environment logo
Australian National Botanic Gardens  
ANBG symbol

Home > ANBG > Australian Flag

The Australian Flag - Flags of the Australian States and Territories

Each Australian state has its own official flag, as do both mainland territories and some of the offshore territories.

Australian State Flags

Each of the six states of Australia has its own flag consisting of the Blue Ensign with the Union Jack in the upper hoist quarter, the fly half defaced with the badge or heraldic device of the state concerned:

The shields or badges of each of the Australian States are combined in the Australian Commonwealth Arms.

Australian Territories' Flags

Some of the Australian Territories also have their own flags:

Prepared by Jim Croft (jrc@anbg.gov.au)
This site sponsored as a community service by the Australian National Botanic Gardens  

ANBG symbol